An Surprise Encounter With a Woman Who is Grieving Her Abortion

Late this afternoon, I felt compelled to go for a walk in the snow. I had been inside working pretty hard all day, and I thought my body was simply saying, “get some fresh air.” But was that all it was?

I walked up to the church near my house, and noticed a woman standing near the building. I was curious as to why someone would be at the church on a Saturday night, so I walked over towards her. As we drew closer, we recognized each other.  In order to keep the situation confidential, I will call her Sue.

Sue and I had a number of brief conversations because she worked at a place that I frequented pretty often.  We always enjoyed our little chats, and actually encouraged each other. We both were followers of Jesus, and we seemed to have a lot in common.

I hadn’t seen her for at least a year. She said she was going to an AA group and was getting a lot out of it. She asked me what I was doing, and I said, “I finally learned what I wanted to do when I grow up,”

“Oh, what is that,” she asked with interest.

“I want to be another William Wilburforce, only I want to help end abortion.  I feel passionate about this cause because it reminds me of the holocaust in Nazi Germany.”

I detected a bit of discomfort on Sue’s part and we talked a bit more about how so many churches are not taking a stand on this issue.

“Where are you at with the topic,” I gently asked her.

“Well,” she said tentatively, “I thought I might call you…but I want you to know…I had an abortion. I am still not over it. I feel so bad about it. And I know that having the abortion was the thing that contributed to the ending of my marriage.”

“I am so sorry,” I said, deeply touched by her vulnerability. “I just want you to know that I am very much pro-woman, pro-baby, pro-abortion worker. I am so glad you are willing to share this with me.”

She told me a few more details about her grieving. I told her I would love to talk to her more, and she eagerly gave me her number.

I am now doing more research about how to help post abortive women. I know that Loving Choices has some counseling available, and that groups like Project Rachel are available. This article about how to talk to a friend who has had an abortion was very helpful.

You know, if I hadn’t been willing to share about my passion for stopping abortion, the topic would not have come up. My intention is to find winsome ways of bringing up abortion so that more conversations like this can be had. Even if someone is pro-choice, there can be a good conversation if I am willing to listen, as well as be well-informed about why abortion is so destructive to women, men, and babies.

I feel grateful for this encounter with a beautiful woman with whom I really look forward to talking to.  I think we are going to be friends.

2 thoughts on “An Surprise Encounter With a Woman Who is Grieving Her Abortion

  1. This was an awesome Divine Appointment Patricia! Praying ‘Sue’ will find the right path for healing & deliverance.

    Another good resource, I myself would recommend, is Surrendering the Secret. Surrendering the Secret: Healing the Heartbreak of Abortion (Picking Up the Pieces Series)

    |   | |   |   |   |   |   | | Surrendering the Secret: Healing the Heartbreak of Abortion (Picking Up the Pieces Series)Surrendering the Secret: Healing the Heartbreak of Abortion (Picking Up the Pieces Series) [Patricia Layton] on Amazon.com. *FREE* shipping on qualifying offers. Theme: Healing the Heartbreak of Abortion 8 sessions Many women hide the secret of abortion deep in their hearts | | | | View on http://www.amazon.com | Preview by Yahoo | | | |   |

     Maggie (Margaret) Ciocco 479-665-2445479-325-0337 cell (text, call or vm)

      From: Pro-Life Organizer To: maggieciocco@yahoo.com Sent: Saturday, February 28, 2015 11:38 PM Subject: [New post] An Encounter With a Woman Who is Grieving Her Abortion #yiv1671134870 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv1671134870 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv1671134870 a.yiv1671134870primaryactionlink:link, #yiv1671134870 a.yiv1671134870primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv1671134870 a.yiv1671134870primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv1671134870 a.yiv1671134870primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv1671134870 WordPress.com | Patricia Mikkelson, professional organizer and non-violent Pro-Life Activist posted: “Late this afternoon, I felt compelled to go for a walk in the snow. I had been inside working pretty hard all day, and I thought my body was simply saying, “get some fresh air.” But was that all it was?I walked up to the church near my house, and noti” | |

Leave a Reply

