Gay Marriage: A Meeting House statement

You can find the statement on pdf form here

One of the things I most admire about The Meeting House is that they are not afraid to be up front with where they stand on controversial issues. I don’t think I have ever seen a church website that shared their statements on such things as gay  marriage or divorce and remarriage in leadership.  I appreciate with great joy the transparency of this group.

I have also yet to experience a church which has a stance on homosexuality that I can agree on. I have been a bit nebulous about myself. But because there are rare conversations about the topic (if there are, they are often cut short by words like “it is clearly biblical…”) I realize that I just yearn to be in a setting where this topic is openly talked about.

My brother is gay. I have friends, including one Christian,  who are gay. I work for someone who is gay. I resonate with the teachings that say that the Bible is not really definitive on the topic.  Yet at the same time, I am not sure I would be comfortable in a church where homosexuality is accepted–and thus encouraged–as being perfectly okay.

Therefore I feel relieved and grateful to read this statement about where The Meeting House stands on this issue. I think it is very healthy for their church, and a great example for all disciples of Jesus.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

