Counter praying at the 40 Days for Life Vigil…very interesting!

I went to pray in front of Planned Parenthood as part of the 40 days for life campaign. I am really enjoying this prayer time. I can’t believe how fast the time goes by. I am meeting very kind, caring, compassionate people as well. I feel so close to God at these times, and I really like the fact that because I’ve made a commitment to pray during a certain time slot, I keep my commitment to pray.

I am eager to write about some of my experiences, but I need to capture this most recent one today while it is fresh in my mind. Juliet and I were praying facing the Planned Parenthood.  A car drove up and parked in the Planned Parenthood parking lot.  Carrying  a large, blank, white sign, a woman emerged from the car and started quickly writing something on the sign material.

After a few minutes, she came out to the side walk and stood boldly holding her sign above her head. One side said, “Pray for 365 days of safe, legal abortion” and “Pray for women’s rights”. The funny thing is, she didn’t seem to be praying. She was talking on the phone at times, and also facing people on the road almost defiantly. I don’t know her name, but I’ll call her Sue.

One person stopped their car and asked her if they could buy her a cold drink or do anything to help. “Sure, I’d like that,” Sue  said. “Come and join me, too.”

A planned parenthood staff member came out and invited her to come and visit with them. They were instant friends  it seemed. Sue said, “Thanks for what you are doing. You are doing God’s work.”

I decided to make a sign that complemented the sign that Juliet was holding which had the image of a 12 week old baby that was obviously a tiny human being.  I just happened to have sign making materials in my car for various reasons, including the fact that I am a professional organizer and always carry tape, markers, and paper. Someone had just given me an old political sign and some paper bags.  I wrote, “This person is praying for the right to kill me” with an arrow pointing toward the baby. I stood next to Juliet. Another woman had come to pray with us and she held up a sign about free pregnancy help.

Sue rather harshly said, “What does your sign say?” I showed it to her and she said, “That’s a zygote. It’s not a baby.”

I politely and calmly said, “It is a scientific fact that human life begins at conception.”

She snarled,  “Your a bunch of morons. That’s a zygote. Look it up in the dictionary.”

Then we all proceeded to stand there in silence.

I prayed for Sue. I was glad that she was so passionate about her cause that she was wiling to stand up for it.  If she really believes that Planned Parenthood is doing God’s work and she wants God’s work to be done, then perhaps her eyes will be opened. I prayed that God’s love would encircle her and she will see how her actions of calling us morons was not very Godly. I prayed that our peaceful actions would stand in contrast to hers which seemed aggressive and hateful. I pray that she will see the truth and the truth will set her free.

You know, even if we were wrong, it would seem that Sue would not need to be so aggressive if she really thought her cause was right.  It seems like underneath her judgment is a hurting person who is confused and fearful.

I went back later with my daughter. Sue had one person join her. My daughter was dismayed because she saw that Sue was standing a few feet from a 40 days for life person who was kneeling and praying facing the Planned Parenthood clinic–a woman who I found out later had had an abortion and was now very dedicated to saving babies from abortion. Mahriyanna did not like the fact that Sue seemed to be wanting people to think that the kneeling woman was praying for Sue’s issues.  But later the kneeling lady, when told about this incident said, “It doesn’t matter. God knows for what I am praying. That is all that matters.” I was impressed that she was not angry.

You never know what might happen when you pray at Planned Parenthood. I felt enriched by the experience as I always do.

If you want to help, I strongly encourage you to contact 40daysforlifenwa@gmail.com and get on their mailing list. Also, sign up for the national headquarters daily updates. These messages which include news and a devotional, are always so inspiring.

Leave a Reply

