I have a dream: An Interfaith Youth Choir for Peace

This dream came out of left field. I am really busy, and seemingly don’t have time to do this. But I am praying that God will make a way for me to get this started.

Here is how it happened. My friend Bea started talking about a sponsoring a fund raiser to help especially innocent and young victims in the recent bombing by Israel soldiers of civilians living in the Gaza strip in Palestine. Here is more information about this horrible situation.

When she told me about children having limbs amputated without anesthesia and phosphorus bombs burning little victims in horrible ways including burning down to the bone, I was shocked and saddened. When I sent her an email suggesting that perhaps I could help by doing a concert for children with songs which encourage peace making, she had the idea of having a mass children’s choir.

When I attended the Interfaith Harmony Day sponsored by the Unitarian Universalist Fellowship of Fayetteville, I felt inspired to talk to people at the various tables as well as friends I met at the event about the idea of having and interfaith youth choir which would have as its first performance a fund raiser for victims living in Gaza.

I was flabbergasted by the positive response by everyone I spoke to. I felt so supported and encouraged that now I am convinced this is the right thing for me to focus on.

I have decided to make a small organization to help create this Youth For Peace Interfaith Choir (that is the name I just made up).

Since I have had much experience with working with children as well as producing three tapes for young people, I feel confident that I can create a successful choir. I also have learned that I will be much more effective working with a team.

The songs we will be singing have a universal message, are easy to sing,  include audience participation, and appeal to people of all ages. These songs are ones that are written mostly by my two friends Linda Williams and Carol Johnson who have a wonderful ability to write music with a message.

If you have any interest in helping organizer and in other ways supporting this endeavor, let me know.

Here are some needs:

1. Contact choir directors and other representatives of faith based groups in the area.

2. Help with the monthly rehearsals.

3. Donate funds to pay for the production of rehearsal dvd’s and videos so that the children can learn songs and motions at home.

4. Help with video production of the motions to the songs.

5. Be part of a team/board of directors  to organize the whole effort.

6. Do research and see if a similar project has been undertaken elsewhere.

7. Help with the actual rehearsal by helping supervise the young people.

8. Help with the fundraiser. We are having a meeting Monday, Jan. 20 at 7pm in Fayetteville.

Thanks for your interest! You can contact me at 479-313-0414 simplifiedliving@gmail.com

One thought on “I have a dream: An Interfaith Youth Choir for Peace

  1. Patricia:

    Read your nice email about the services you offer! Great stuff!

    You might want to look into the video-movie, “The Singing Revolution”, and the work of this new organization, “Stand Up And Sing For America” (SUSA).

    I sang in a barbershop quartet-chorus for 10 years here in Chicago. There’s a national organization called the Barbershop Harmony Society – formerally SPEBSQSA (Society for the Preservation and Encouragement of Barbershop Quartet Singing in America).

    Hope all is well!

    Peace and God Bless,

    Fred

Leave a Reply

